Are you a writer?

How you know when you are a ‘writer’ : –
– You start day-dreaming on the setting of your latest novel and walk into a stobie pole
– You get hysterical in the café as the ink in your pen has run out and you have thought of a brilliant idea you need to jot down
– You are busy writing on the train and miss your stop
– You start arranging your children’s toys on the lounge room floor to try to work out a fight scene (“Die, My Potato Head,” said Barbie driving her pink convertible over his ears.)
– You call your boss by the name of a character you are developing (which is problematic when your character’s name is Captain Hinklebottom)
– You spend time procrastinating and writing silly quirks on your blog when you should be writing your novel

3 Comments

  1. December 9, 2011 at 12:25 am

    Good stuff, I can relate to every one of these, more or less.

    BTW, just finished reading “A Time to Kill” via Daily Science Fiction and rated it 7 out 7 Rocket Ships (a first). The story’s exposition conveyed a ton using very few words. Well done.

    I have been working on three separate shorts that I hope to submit in the future. For whatever reason, I find writing a short is more daunting then a novel (or a trilogy in my case;-).

    • Melanie Rees said,

      December 12, 2011 at 10:48 am

      Hi Trey
      Thanks for the feedback and rating.
      I just perused your blog and read the blurb for The Provider series. It sounds like my kind of book. I’ve been sucking up to Santa and am hoping he will buy me a Kindle this Christmas, so I’ll add yours to the long list of e-books I want to read.
      Good luck with the shorts stories and thanks for dropping by.

      • December 13, 2011 at 1:47 am

        Wonderful, I’ll send you a Smashwords coupon to download a free copy in January. I welcome and value your feedback/review. I got my Kindle this past April and have all but converted to digital only reading, I love it:-)


Leave a Reply

